Cooking

10 Jun

I used to hate cooking as a child.

I stayed as far away from the kitchen as I could, much to my mom’s dismay.  The idea of cooking and then cleaning all that mess up was about as appealing as having a root canal with no anaesthetic.

The I moved out on my own and suddenly I had my kitchen all to myself.  It’s like a switch flipped.  I adore cooking now, and find it almost as therapeutic as reading or taking a long, hot shower.  I haven’t quite gotten over my aversion to baking though, but I’m taking baby steps.

Two weeks ago I tried my hand at a box mix of malva pudding.  It came out so beautifully that I tried it from scratch when we had the inlaws over this past weekend.  I’ve subsequently asked my mom for the family recipe, because the one I got off the internet was a bit soggy.

Last night I tried my hand at breadrolls to go with the soup I whipped up.  This is the result:

Image

 

These weren’t too bad, but I’ve asked my mom for her breadroll recipe too 😛

The jury in still out on whether I like baking or not, but in the meantime I’ll continue experimenting with new stuff in the kitchen.

Maybe I’ll even tell you about them 😉

5 Responses to “Cooking”

  1. acidicice (@acidicice) 10/06/2014 at 15:52 #

    Be a food blogger. Come on!

  2. sophiebowns 10/06/2014 at 16:17 #

    I’m not massively keen!

  3. Louisa 11/06/2014 at 05:37 #

    I had the same thing growing up. Now I quite enjoy it…as long as I don’t have back seat chefs around me. I work better alone I guess. 😉

    Asking my mom for recipes is pretty pointless…she always leaves out something or a special step somewhere.

  4. Megan 13/06/2014 at 08:25 #

    I miss your cooking SO MUCH! Please blog that chicken spice rub you made for me once? and the peanut sauce?

    • arkwife 17/06/2014 at 16:16 #

      Lol, I’d have to go find the recipes again. And then figure out what my adjustments were 😛

Leave a Reply

