Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days (write a letter)

24 Nov

Let me just clear one thing out of the way.  I’ve mentioned before that I am a singer.  A musician of sorts.  Music is like Valium to me and it is almost impossible to choose any one band or artist that could carry the title as the only on to get through to me.

To that end, I will write to the music industry as a whole, highlighting certain songs or artists that have had an impact on me over the years.

Dear World of Musos,

I”m not sure if you truly understand the impact you’ve had on my life.  I don’t know if it would be possible to put into words how passionate I am about the wondrous melodies that have come forth from your bosom.  The songs that you’ve created in your world have rocked mine.  There are moments in my memory where nothing else could break through, besides the words of a certain song.

I listen to music when I’m happy, singing along to the words with a smile on my face.  I laugh and squeal along to the playful rhythms of Mika and Lily Allen and Eliza Doolittle.

I listen to music when I want calm and peace.  Many a day has been spent languishing in the rich melodies of Chopin, Mozart and Tchaikovsky.

I listen to music when I’m angry, singing along to Evanescence, My Chemical Romance and 30 Seconds to Mars when my temper has flared and my mind is a raging storm.

I listen to music when I’m working, finding energy in Norah Jones, Jack Johnson and Damien Rice.

I listen to music when I’m lonely, seeking companionship in Muse, Kings of Leon and The Killers.

Music inspires me, rejuvenates me and excites me.  Music turns me on and quietens my thoughts.

I can listen to a song and hear nothing else.  A beautiful voice or melody or lyric can move me to tears and has done so many, many times.

Music is the lifeblood of my soul.

Music is part of who I am.

I am a musician.

And I am humbled.

Thank you…

xxx

One Response to “Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days (write a letter)”

  1. Angel 27/12/2010 at 00:16 #

    I’m with you. My life is very strange and can get crazy without music in it.

Leave a Reply

