Day 12 → Something you never get compliments on

23 Nov

This title seems to imply that there is something that I do that I wish people would notice.

First off, let me refer back to the Five Love Languages I mentioned yesterday.  One thing I’ve learned over the years, long before I knew that my love language was Words of Affirmation, was that I tend to fish for compliments.  It’s something I used to think I’d picked up from my dad when I was growing up; he always used to repeat something over and over, looking for approval.  I now understand that its just my way of asking for love.

As such, I do the same thing my dad does.  I keep referring to anything that I want to be acknowledged for.  For instance asking my husband repeatedly whether he liked the meal that I cooked.  I’m fairly subtle about it, and you won’t realise I’m doing it unless you really pay attention.  I fish the most when a compliment catches me off guard.  If someone tells me that I look pretty when I haven’t gone to any sort of trouble, I’ll try to get them to repeat the compliment at least twice more….mostly because I don’t believe it.

I generally get some form of acknowledgement (mostly in the form of thanks) for the things that I want acknowledgement for, but I have to fish for it most of the time.

One Response to “Day 12 → Something you never get compliments on”

  1. Angel 27/12/2010 at 00:17 #

    I think a compliment once in a while is just as much fun to give as to receive!

Leave a Reply

