Day 11 → Something people seem to compliment you the most on

22 Nov

Maybe I’m just not observant enough, but I can’t specifically think of what I get compliments on often. Probably because I don’t get complimented very much.

I seem to be thanked more than complimented.   My boss will thank me for a job well done or my husband will thank me for a good meal, but compliments?  Not so much.

I guess this is why I have such wonderful (read dismal) self-esteem.  I read a book a while ago called ” The Five Love Languages” and according to author Gary Chapman, my love language is Words of Affirmation.  What that boils down to is that I need to hear that I’m doing a good job or that I look pretty or that I’m important to someone.  If I don’t hear it, I don’t feel loved or needed.

I suppose getting thanked does help.  It makes me feel that I do get noticed, even if I’m not good enough to be complimented.  It’s better then nothing.

It’s starting to sound like I never get compliments.  This isn’t my intention.  I do get compliments, just not very often.

*Edit:  I started writing this post at about 10am, it is now 3pm and its finally dawned on me that I do get complimented on one thing fairly often.*

The one thing I do get complimented on is my daughter.  People can’t stop telling me how well behaved and beautiful she is.  I guess I don’t see it as a compliment because I don’t think that I’m responsible for her being so good or so pretty.  I just feel lucky that we’ve been blessed with a little girl whose smile will melt your heart.

Meh.  This was not a nice topic.

4 Responses to “Day 11 → Something people seem to compliment you the most on”

  1. Wenchy 22/11/2010 at 18:34 #

    “Five Love Languages” – it was a really good book that

  2. limewire info 24/11/2010 at 03:20 #

    ah

  3. Angel 27/12/2010 at 00:19 #

    Perhaps you don’t hear the compliments because you need to hear them? You’re listening so hard they go over your head? Just off the top of my head, for example, I have heard people compliment you on your singing voice!
    😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 12 → Something you never get compliments on « The Arkives - 23/11/2010

    […] off, let me refer back to the Five Love Languages I mentioned yesterday.  One thing I’ve learned over the years, long before I knew that my love language was Words […]

Leave a Reply

