Day 07 → Someone who has made your life worth living

5 Nov

I’m going to assume that no-one meant for this to sound that any participant’s life was ever *not* worth living.  I mean really, not everyone is depressed with suicidal tendencies, right?

I’m sure the creators of this meme were merely asking about someone who has brightened your life in a significant sort of way.

If I go on that assumption, then the answer would very definitely be: my husband and daughter.  I love them both very much and I am grateful for every day I get to spend with them.

If however, I choose to rather take the title of today’s post, and attach a literal meaning to it, then I’d be looking for the person who has given my life reason and purpose and who has motivated me to accept new challenges and try new things.

That person would be: me.

And why not?  Sure, I might try something new and exciting because someone else told me of their experience doing the same thing, but at the end of the day, I’m the one who chooses where my life is going.  I’m the one who faces each new day and says “Bring it on”.  Other people may have some influence over me, but only if I so choose.

I choose to wake up and kiss my husband and daughter every day, but I could just as easily choose to pack my bags and hit the road, especially when the going gets rough (not that I would ever leave, but it is still my choice).

I’m the one who has made choices that have made my life fun and exciting.  I’m the one who chooses to approach life with a smile on my face.

I realise that there are people out there who do not have this freedom.  People who need more than just their own willpower to make it through each day.  My heart breaks for them, and I truly hope that one day they will have the power to make their own choices.

As for me, I’m free to make my own choices….and I choose to make my live worth living.

One Response to “Day 07 → Someone who has made your life worth living”

  1. Angel 27/12/2010 at 00:36 #

    Nice answer.

Leave a Reply

