Day 06 → Something you hope you never have to do

4 Nov

This could be a post in which I agree with all the moms who are also doing this meme.  It could be a post in which I write about how losing my husband or my daughter would be the worst thing ever.

But its not.

Don’t get me wrong, losing anyone in my family would be devastating and I really do hope that I am spared that heartache for as long as possible, but I’m realistic about it.  I know that this in an imperfect world and that anything can happen.  I hope and pray that it won’t.  If, however, God should decide that my husband or daughter should leave this world, I rest in assurance that they’ll be going home to Him.  So, as devastating as it would be to lose either of them, I think that I would learn to be okay with it….eventually.

There is something that would be worse than this, for me.

I’m a believer in God.  It’s not something I proclaim from the rooftops, but its not something I specifically try to hide either.  I’m not a fan of organised religion as is practiced by the majority of Christians.  I believe that Jesus died for my sin and that I’m saved.  I also believe that this has given me a free pass into heaven.

I admit that I’m not the best example for my faith.  I screw up on a daily basis.  I lie (though I don’t particularly like lying), I swear (a lot), I’m impatient, I’m bitchy, I gossip, I’m sometimes judgemental (who isn’t, right?), I’m lazy and I don’t hold my tongue.

I’m also going to have to answer for all of this one day.  You see, I believe that there will be a Day of Judgement.  I believe that there will be a day that I’m going to have to stand in front of God and answer for all of the things that I’ve done and haven’t done in my life.

I hope I never have to answer for this one thing…..why my brothers and parents aren’t coming to heaven with me.

I hope I never have to look into the eyes of Jesus and tell Him that its because I never told them about Him.

3 Responses to “Day 06 → Something you hope you never have to do”

  1. Wenchy 04/11/2010 at 15:29 #

    very touching post

  2. Tamara 15/11/2010 at 12:58 #

    I hear you. I hope I never have to do that either.

  3. Angel 27/12/2010 at 00:39 #

    Oh what a heart wrenching answer! I think there is not a Christian on this planet who doesn’t fear the question on Judgment Day: “Why were you silent?” At the same time, being a Christian and accepting Christ paid our price tells me I won’t have to answer any questions…
    😛

Leave a Reply

