Day 02 → Something you love about yourself

28 Oct

Much less easy to answer this one.  Amazing how you can always find stuff that you hate about yourself, but never what you love about yourself. Self-critical much?

Anyway, I’ll split this one in two.  One physical quality and one talent.

Physical quality: I have pretty eyes (or at least, I think so).  My eyes are a mixture of green and brown (the green is from my dad and the brown from my mom).  They’re not quite yellow enough to be hazel, but its the closest description for the colour my eyes generally are.  They change shades depending on the time of day, the ambient light, the colour I’m wearing and whether I’d been crying.  They’ll start off being more green, going brown the later it gets.  By nighttime they’re mostly brown, but then they start going green again.  If its early in the morning (and by early I mean 2am early) they are almost completely green.

They’re also very green if I’ve cried and they tend to be more green if its rainy outside.  Strangely, they don’t really change with my mood like blue or green eyes do.

Talent: I sing pretty darn well.  It’s taken me years to acknowledge this to myself.  I’ve been singing since I can remember, having done my first Eisteddfod when I was 6 years old.  There was always someone better than me though, and it got to a point where I developed crazy stage fright because I didn’t really believe that I sang well enough.  Strangely enough,  I never did stop singing, even though I thought that people were just being nice to me by letting me sing.  I’ve even had a “friend” tell me that I’m pretty good at holding a note, but I’d never be lead singer material.

I have finally come to the point where I believe that I am good enough and I no longer listen to criticism unless that person is trying to help me improve.  I have the ability to harmonize with ease.  I know now that this is a rare talent and I’m not letting it go to waste.  I never used to count myself as a muso seeing as I don’t play an instrument (something that’s almost frowned upon in the circles that I move in), but now I know that I am a muso, and I’m a good one too.

I love that I’ve realised this at last.

3 Responses to “Day 02 → Something you love about yourself”

  1. caz 28/10/2010 at 14:55 #

    Awesome! I love this post and I totally agree that you have gorgeous eyes.

  2. hardspear 29/10/2010 at 08:26 #

    I cannot sing at all. I sound like a blowfly stuck in a tin can when I sing. Singing certainly is a talent I wish I had

  3. Tamara 29/10/2010 at 14:29 #

    I’d love to hear you sing sometime 😉

    The new look on the blog is lovely, btw.

Leave a Reply

