Truth be told

9 Jun

I’m terrified.

Things have started happening very fast.  One moment I was still happily swimming in the river of denial, the next I was thrown into the vast barrenness that is reality.

But let me back up a little….

You’ll remember I mentioned briefly that things were a bit iffy with our company.  I never went into details, but the gist of it is that our local office is too small to be cost effective so they would be closing down our branch.  There was a light at the end of the tunnel though, with the possibility of a local investor taking over the responsibilities of our office locally.  He promised to take over everything, including all staff (pregnant staff as well), in return for getting agency rights and setting up a better business model than the one we run currently.

All of this was discussed and decided in the middle of January. We would’ve moved over onto our new boss’ payroll by end January…then we would’ve moved over by end April.  Now we’ve been told that we’re moving over at the end of June. You see a trend here?

In the past week, since head office said that we’re finally doing the shift at the end of the month, things have started changing rapidly.  It seems that we’ll actually be following through with the plans to move over to the other company as we’ve already made arrangements regarding our office space.  This would’ve been fabulous, if it happened 3 months ago…..before I needed to start planning for my maternity leave.

Yesterday, another problem made its appearance. I’d planned to put off talking to my company about my maternity leave until the end of June, thinking that I’ll work until middle July.  That was before I found out that I may not have the option to give birth naturally anymore.  My blood pressure and a few other things are worrying my doctor and she’s making me monitor a few things very closely as well as take even more pills than I’m already taking.  I have to report back in two weeks time, and again two weeks after that. If I don’t show the type of progress she’s looking for, I’ll have no choice but to go for a Caesarean (a fact that I’m not to stressed about, strangely).  I’ve also been told that I have to stop working at the end of June.

The same time that I technically start at a new company…..

So basically, I’m going on maternity leave without an idea as to whether I really do still have a job or not.  Lack of job means lack of salary.  (Not that getting a salary from your employer is compulsory per SA law) The best case scenario is that I get to claim from UIF, but you can only claim for a third of your full monthly salary.  I have bills to pay and I’m scared….more than I could ever had imagined.

I don’t know what to do.

7 Responses to “Truth be told”

  1. Jeanette 09/06/2009 at 13:53 #

    What’s the maternity policy at the new company? You have every right to negotiate now, don’t wait.

  2. arkwife 09/06/2009 at 14:05 #

    The new company technically doesn’t exist yet. All of this has only been on paper until now. As far as I know, even if we do move out of our current offices at the end of the month, we don’t necessarily have new offices to move into yet. My two colleagues know as little as I do, they just happen to not be pregnant.

  3. Louisa 10/06/2009 at 09:00 #

    Oh my word…no wonder you’re stressed cuzz. I wish I could say something to make you feel better, but all I’ve got is that you have to stay relaxed and keep faith. Even when you don’t know what’s going to happen next these things have a way of working out anyway?

    *big huggs*

  4. Ringo 10/06/2009 at 09:17 #

    Stick it to the man! Burn that muh-fucka down!

  5. Tamara 12/06/2009 at 12:29 #

    That is very scary. Praying that there’s a perfect solution for you!

  6. angel 14/06/2009 at 17:26 #

    Oy… that is crappy to deal with.
    You know you’ll be fine, right. He has a plan.

  7. Caz 09/07/2009 at 11:04 #

    Shame lady! That’s VERY stressful!! Also knocked up and waiting to hear what they are willing to do with me post maternity leave. When is your actual due date and why have i only just discovered your blog!!?

Leave a Reply

