Could it be?

27 May

Am I slightly depressed?

I’ve been prescribed anti-depressants before, but I managed to get out of the situation that was causing my depression before I needed to fill the script.  It doesn’t seem as clear cut this time.

I have a couple of reasons why I suspect mild depression. First off, my total lack of motivation to do anything whatsoever…unless there is little or no effort involved, that is.   I can lay reading in bed for hours, as long as Hubby goes to fetch my book from wherever it is, as I’m too lazy to get up and fetch it myself.

It’s my birthday tomorrow and I’m not excited in the least.  It seems like too much effort to try and organise anything.  I’m usually a complete party animal who can’t wait to spend the whole weekend celebrating. Now I couldn’t care less.

I’m busy planning my baby shower but, in truth, I wish I could just ask everyone to post whatever gifts they want to send. Social gatherings seem to scare me off at the moment. (sorry ladies, that and my birthday are the reasons why I won’t be at Bloggirls this month)  I’m an extreme extrovert who loves being around people. This is very weird for me.

The most tell tale sign though is that it feels like I haven’t laughed in ages. So much so, that when I do laugh I sound strange to myself, like my laugh has changed and has become very strained.

I hope this is just a temporary side effect of my pregnancy and that it doesn’t last too much longer.  I kinda miss being a happy person….

4 Responses to “Could it be?”

  1. Louisa 27/05/2009 at 19:15 #

    *hugs*

    Sorry you’re feeling a bit down cuzz.

  2. phillygirl 28/05/2009 at 08:14 #

    Aw, feel better! And we’ll miss you on Saturday.

    Hope your mood improves for your birthday 🙂 Happy happy!

  3. Wenchy 28/05/2009 at 11:44 #

    I’m so glad I visited TODAY…. I’ve suffered from depression in various forms all of my life… and the social pressure of a surprise event especially would freak me out…. and meeting new people sometimes is overwhelming….

    I don’t have magic words… but know you are not alone.

    Happy birthday baby.

  4. angel 30/05/2009 at 20:33 #

    Well arkwife- I woulda never guessed you were depressed when I saw you today, and I am SO very glad you decided to come to BlogGirls anyway.

Leave a Reply

