Dear Mom

14 May

It’s your birthday today and even though I could’ve told you how much you mean to me on Mother’s Day, I’ve chosen to do it today so that you know it’s just for you.

You brought me into this world and you often jokingly mention how you could take me out again.  You raised me to be independent, strong and confident and to take pride in who I am and what I accomplish.  You taught me how to love deeply and passionately and how to recover from pain and disappointment.

You stood back when my brothers and I decided to live with my dad, yet you welcomed me with open arms when I couldn’t stay with him anymore.  You consoled me when my heart got broken and kept me from letting my heartache consume me.

You left me to learn from my mistakes, but guided me back on the right path when I strayed too far.  You exposed your vulnerabilty to me when you went through hard times, but came back stronger every time.  You taught me that its okay to ask for help when you need it and that you should give help when it is asked of you.

You let me make my own choices, even when you didn’t agree with them and supported me, whatever the outcome. You drive me completely insane sometimes but you laugh with me like no-one else does.

Most importantly, you’ve taught me how to be a mother to the little girl I carry inside me.

I often thank God for blessing me with you as my mother and I thank Him again today for letting me have another year with you….and I pray for many, many more years with you.

Happy Birthday Mom, I love you.

AW

One Response to “Dear Mom”

  1. angel 24/05/2009 at 14:47 #

    Thats a gawjiss post… happy belated birthday Arkwife’s mom! It seem, Arkwife, that you and I are equally blessed with wonderful mothers.

Leave a Reply

