What if it’s a boy?!

14 Apr

I barely slept last night.

My days have been filled with looking for a name for my daughter. I’m very specific about what I want….okay, maybe not that specific, but I do have certain criteria.

First of all, it has to be a bilingual name. I don’t want a name that sounds all pretty and exotic in English but sounds like a brand of toilet cleaner in Afrikaans.

Secondly, it can’t be the name of or bear resemblance to the name of anyone Hubby and I know or have known in our lifetimes.  This is partly because I’m full of crap and partly because I don’t want anyone to think that I named my child after them. I also associate past experiences with names. If you were an evil bitch at school, I’m sure as hell not naming my daughter after you, I don’t care how pretty your name is.

Thirdly, it has to have a good, strong meaning. I believe that the meaning of your name(s) has an influence on who you become in life. Mary (and many of its derivatives) is a pretty name, but it means Bitter. Same with Cameron…stunning name, but it means Crooked Nose. Not happening.

Add to this the fact that I want my baby to have a first and second name (to strengthen the meaning, of course) and you have quite a task ahead of you.

So the past few weeks have been spent trawling hundreds…nay, thousands of names on the interwebz and in baby name books, looking for the perfect set.  I’ve spent many an afternoon staring at my PC screen, willing a name to jump out at me and bowl me over. Sometimes I would strike luck, finding a rare treasure of a name….only to have my hopes dashed by Hubby. (Sometimes being polar opposites is a pain in the ass)

Finally last night, after reading through another bazillion names, I came across one that grabbed me again.  I temped fate and ran the name past Hubby…..and he liked it.  A lot!  “We have a winner”, I almost shouted out.  At last we have a name.  Now to find the second name.  Crap.

Luckily, having one name narrows the search for a second name down quite a bit.  We can now eliminate certain letters, amount of syllables etc.  The list is much shorter….right? Especially since I’ve already come across a whole plethora of names that could work…right??? Wrong.

We ended up throwing names at each other until well after midnight last night. I’m not sure what time I finally fell asleep, but I know I was still trying combinations of names as I drifted off. Only to dream of more names during the night…and even ending up having a mini-nightmare about my child’s name.

So after a miserably restless night I awoke with the most terrible thought. I turned to Hubby with a look of gravest concern. What if the scan was wrong?

What if it’s a boy?!

2 Responses to “What if it’s a boy?!”

  1. phillygirl 15/04/2009 at 08:10 #

    Wahahahahahaha 🙂 I loved this post! And good luck finding a second name 🙂

  2. angel 20/04/2009 at 08:18 #

    Mwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa… Your last line had me giggling! I can imagine your worrying about that.
    I can’t wait to find out what you’ve decided on.
    And I’m right with you on choosing one with no past associations.

Leave a Reply

